Category: Children

Little Love Tanks

Children with full love tanks are more likely to obey parents, help others, and reach their potential in learning. Keeping the love tank full means that we must discover the child’s primary love language and then speak it regularly. The five love languages are:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch

Out of these five, your child has a primary love language. How do you discover it? Three clues:

  1. Observe how they love you.  What they give is probably what they want.
  2. What does your child complain about?  The complaint reveals the love language.
  3. What does your child request most often?  The request gives you valuable information.

For an online quiz to help your child discover their love language, visit the following link:

Service Vocation

Parenting is a service-oriented vocation. The day you decided to have a child, you enrolled for full-time service. Your contract called for a minimum of 18 years of service with an understanding that you would be on ‘active reserve’ for several years after that. For some children ‘acts of service’ is their primary love language. What makes them really feel loved is when you do something for them.

Cooking meals, mending doll dresses, washing clothes, and helping them with their projects are all acts of service. Your primary motivation is not to ‘please’ them, but to love them – to do what is best for them. As you serve them you are also providing a model which they will learn to emulate. You are following the example of Christ.